RSS

Daily Archives: August 22, 2008

My Birthplace: Pine Bluff, Arkansas


 

Welcome to Pine Bluff, Arkansas

I was born here October 8, 1985

Bred and raised it’s kind of an urban country vibe

Although in recent years it’s sad to say, but progress is slow

On a brighter note the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff is making its stand and is a shining light in the dark bleakness

Their educational programs and social events inspire many and keep things interesting

Pine Bluff holds a special place in my heart, most of what I learned about life, came from my experiences and interactions here

There is so much to tell about Pine Bluff, but here is my little piece

Thank you Pine Bluff for making me

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 22, 2008 in Essays and Journals

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Today Before Tomorrow


  

 

By: Tony L. Jefferson, Jr.

When I think of tomorrow, I sometimes forget to focus on today,

Today draws the blueprint for how tomorrow will be. The future as we know is unpredictable and it will always be that way, God knows my past, present, and future and that’s alright with me.

 

 

It’s human nature to worry about things they can’t see or change, we often struggle to make it in the tough world of the present, hoping that what tomorrow brings is better.

It’s good to hope, but sometimes that’s all that people rely on and they forget to focus on today rather than worry about what tomorrow brings, because of this they live in a state of negativity and disgrace.

Selfishness is what destroys people, always try help out your friends and family, even total strangers, and help them today so that tomorrow they might be able to help you.

Money isn’t everything, but love is everlasting. You can run out of money, but love runs like an endless stream. If you truly love someone, that person that you love is going to be the only thing you eat, sleep, and breathe in your thoughts, in your heart, and in your soul.

Love conquers all I’m sure you’ve heard that expression, it really does.

LOVE IS!

Love the person your with Today and reap the benefits Tomorrow!

 

 

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 22, 2008 in Inspirational Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Thoughts of the Mind


By: Tony L. Jefferson, Jr.

Thoughts of the mind define the very person I am
What I think is what I feel, what I feel is what I know
Thinking of a time when I was a young boy, so gleeful and full of joy
Playing from dawn till dusk
Without a thought of a care
Now I feel the growing of age and the mature gentleman I became
Looking back on the years, thinking of what was and what is.
In my mind I go back to good times and bad, happiness and sorrow, wondering how my thoughts drove my reactions then and how they change now.
Loving and losing the affection of many
Making love till my emotions overrun
Making decisions that affect the changing times
the thoughts in my mind are always clear, guiding me through the complexities of life, shielding me from an early death of the mind.
I express these thoughts hoping for an answer, a change, a glimmer of something, hoping that my voice is heard among the confusion of the many voices that surround me.
Confused thoughts, confused minds often wage wars on mankind, trying to change the thoughts of others, slowly corrupting society with the ill will that spews from their lips.
Selfishness destroys the bond that mankind was founded upon; the greed of one chokes the life out of positive building blocks of society.
My thoughts will be heard, no matter the cost, no matter the obstacles I may face.
The thoughts of one has since the beginning of time advanced the way the world sees itself, whether good or bad. Thoughts of the mind have brought forth a new era of man, a better and more efficient machine then the past could muster, thoughts of the mind have destroyed civilizations and conquered empires.
Rogue leaders and Good Samaritans have used the power of thought to do the necessary, the impossible and the unthinkable. Thoughts of the mind raise many questions. What does the future hold? What promises will be broken or kept?
A religious man asks what God has in store for mankind
So many questions, and so many thoughts of the mind.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 22, 2008 in Inspirational Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

She was a Lonely Child


By: Tony L. Jefferson, Jr.

 

The struggles that become this child
This lonely child of God, stay with her permanently throughout the scores of her lifetime
She is a lonely child trying to find her way in this reality of hat and greed. A reality fueled by hurt and shame, violence and trepidation
Steadfast she stands against the trials and tribulations, to be relieved of her old shell of defeat
Many a day she faces a different tasking, a different test of her faith, while corruption and lust beat down upon her
She stands against the weary grind of life, never faltering, never failing to realize her potential worth in this life of hardship
Day by day she continues to strive for glory, for her piece of the great American dream, set forth by her forefathers and fought for by her ancestors
Temptation flies in from all corners bombarding her with reasons to stray from her higher path in life
Her inspiration is the great icons that prevailed before her time, because she is the here, now, and the future seed planted in the garden of civilization
From that seed grows all of her hopes, dreams, goals and accomplishments. Her roots grow into the ground making her foundation strong. Buried, but remembered are the evils, transgressions, fears and shortcomings, remembered because they help her grow in faith and love
Loneliness is not a bad thing all the time, this loneliness our human minds can’t grasp immediately
It’s the loneliness that makes us look into ourselves and see the gift given us, to see the potential to succeed no matter what troubles our paths
We too can be the lonely children, making ourselves stronger and better helps us to touch another life in the same fashion Sometimes life makes it so that we feel that were the only ones with problems, the only ones making things happen, the only ones praying for a better day, a day where our future is brighter than the present and brighter than the past.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 22, 2008 in Essays and Journals

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,