RSS

Sometimes as a Man I Cry

25 May

Sometimes as a man I cry
Not because I’m sensitive
But it seems I take alot on these days
The pressures of being a young, single black father
To a beautiful little black girl
It seems I fail even when I try in some eyes
But I succeed, even when I have nothing
Because she has everything I give, I’m rich
Not in a monetary sense
But I’m rich with life
Filled to the brim with joy
But sometimes as a man I cry
Not because I’m sensitive
Because in this world I’m a target
A young black soldier with potential
My enemies are both foreign and domestic
I’m more worried about the domestic
They see me as a criminal ready to dine and dash
As a nigger with no class
As a nigga that’s quick to act an ass
I’m but a man
Someones brother, father, son and friend
Because of that everything else drifts outta away like sand in the desert
But sometimes as a man I cry
Not because I’m sensitive
Sometimes a woman wants the softer side
A man that loves, cares and tries
To be her all
But I don’t think they truly know what they want
But neither do I so who am I to judge
I’m but a man among millions, living in this land with a plan.
I’ll admit that sometimes as a man I cry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
