RSS

Out of the Darkness

29 Aug

 

 

By: Tony L. Jefferson, Jr.

 

I’m fortunate to have made it this far

Coming from where I’m from

People could barely afford a car

So instead they run

On bare feet kissing the hard streets

In dark alleys where killers lurk

I’m happy to be that shining star

To have made it out

To look back and say damn that was ruff

Trying to reach back for at least one more

Instead they wanna stay broke and poor

They don’t see outside of their walls

All they know are those streets

Riddled with broken glass and shattered dreams

Dreams cut short by interrupted sleep

So I’m blessed

Touched by God

Told I would never make it

I’d never amount to nothing

But here I am

Standing tall

Letting the sun shine outside of those walls

So dark and dreary

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Out of the Darkness

  1. Linh

    August 29, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    Very beautiful poem! It makes me feel good inside. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
