RSS

A Change Gonna Come/Daddy Time

20 Mar

 

 

By: Tony L. Jefferson, Jr.

 

I know in the past this blog has mainly been about poetry. Well, I realize people need more content, more of an experience. So while not steering away from the main theme of the site, which is poetry. I want to incorporate other things like a daily newsletter, quotes that I make up, pictures from wherever I travel, etc. So to start this thing off I want to tell you about my experience with being a new father.

 

It was love at first sight. As soon as I stepped off of the plane, we locked eyes and our worlds changed forever. I’m talking of course about my first time seeing my daughter Olivia. This was my first time physically seeing her, as she was born while I was deployed to Iraq. Months and months of pictures, email, and Skype at come down to this moment. It is a moment I will cherish as long as I live.

Olivia might look like an adorable little cutie that wouldn’t do any wrong and she is at times. There are two sides to Olivia from what I have seen thus far. They are what I call her Diva side and there is the Olivia side. The Diva side comes at a moment’s notice and it involves a lot of crying, catering and almost overwhelming frustration. You’d be amazed at how someone so little can cause so much strife. I wouldn’t trade it for the world. The Olivia side involves smiling, laughing (oh what a cute little laugh), and lots of play time.

There is another side that doesn’t involve her physically. That is the parent/business side, where I and her mom Sara, pay bills, buy food and lots of diapers for those stinky times. The whole mechanics of this whole process is overwhelming at first, but after awhile it is routine. Having a little girl isn’t easy, but I know that this is only the beginning on our long journey.

Now the only part I am dreading is those Teen years. OUCH!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
