RSS

Artistically Inclined

23 Jan

 

 

By: Tony L. Jefferson, Jr.

 

 

 

I’ll lasso the sun and scorch the land

Cause fire brings renewal

Growth from the smallest seed prospers to greatness

Overshadowing the past that burned out with time

I’ll straddle the moon and ride through the night

Cause in darkness I creep

In dead silence

Stalking the weak and stupid

Out of misery joy cometh

Striking the match to light the light of ingenuity

Light bulbs flash in my head

Innovative flashes of change

Strike me with fear and I become confused

Submitting to the mass media

Letting them dictate my life

Living in a state of darkness

No one saw the crimes committed against the innocent

But are they really innocent

Or are my eyes blind to what’s real

Did they put themselves in this predicament?

By believing the lies spewed

Or am I just dreaming of equality

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 23, 2011 in Poems of Expression

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Artistically Inclined

  1. Tom Baker

    January 23, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    Tony, I would like to feature this poem in either November or December on my Poetic License series. Once a month I post great poetry that I find by searching blogs such as yours. If you allow me to use your poem, you will get full credit and a link back to your site.

    Three times a year I will also be combining the previous four months into one large magazine style post. If you don’t mind please let me know. If you would like to see an example, the first magazine issue of the last trimester of 2010 was posted on January 6th (http://morningerection.wordpress.com/2011/01/06/the-new-tri-annual-poetic-license-magazine/) with the poems from Sept-Dec of 2010.

    Here is the link to the January Poetic License (http://morningerection.wordpress.com/2011/01/03/poetic-license-5/) if you would like to see it before you decide. Thank you for your consideration, regardless of your decision.

     
  2. Prince khan

    December 14, 2011 at 8:39 am

    visit my blog for my poetries http://princkhanepoetry.blogspot.com/ also tell me ur fvt

     

Leave a comment