RSS

Please Understand

29 Aug

By: Tony L. Jefferson, Jr.

I don’t hate you

I just lack understanding

In my world you’re confused and corrupt

In your world I am crazy and fucked up

I do hate that it is this way

But maybe that all will change someday

I do know one thing though

You’ll never win this war

As long as I’m the insurgent

See I have to be persistent

Or you’ll finally claim right

But deep in my heart I know you’re wrong

More depressing than a sad song

You take so much but you never give

I’m human too with a family and kid

Because I’m good at what I do don’t mean I’m a machine

I’m not being bitter

Just a little pissed off

That I respect you and don’t get the return

See I love everybody

Even my absent daddy

But don’t run over me because I love too strong

I don’t even think that’s all that wrong

Just let me be to take care of my seed

And please, please stop keeping track of me

Please understand I’m not trying to be mean

I just want you to understand me

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Please Understand

  1. Melinda

    August 29, 2010 at 11:35 am

    I was reading quite a few of your poems on here. You are very talented in expressing hard emotions in an eloquent way. Thanks for serving our country. You are going to be a wonderful compassionate parent.

     
  2. Tempest

    August 29, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    Hey,

    Wow you are obviously a very talented writer. I loved this poem, and I believe that it speaks volumes for you as a person. You sound like a fantastic person and parent. As Melinda says, the way you deal with difficult subjects and/or emotions is incredible. The imagery that you evoke is fantastic. It is obvious that you have a talent for writing, and I am glad that I stumbled across your page. Would you mind if I put a link to your blog on mine? And if you have a spare moment, would you mind reading my blog?

    Thanks in advance, and keep up the good work!

    Tempest 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
