RSS

A Poor Man’s Prayer

03 Aug

By: Tony L. Jefferson, Jr.

Lord lend me a bit of food

So I can feed my hungry brood

And let my lights stay on till dawn

So my children can have a little more fun

I come to you lord on bended knee

Praying please let me keep my sanity

Once had a car that the repo took

They stole it outta my yard leaving me shook

But my misery is only compounding

My wife left me three months and counting

Said she wanted a rich man

So she can chill on a beach of jet black sand

My roofs sags and my floorboards creak

Lord please release us from this bad luck streak

I fantasize of better times

A day when I don’t have to sell these dimes

I had a job but they were “over strength”

Such a fancy word for fired but I took the hint

Some would say it ain’t that bad

But our daily life seems to drag

But lord I pray for the betterment of my children

I want them to experience the joys of good living

Lord just let me know if you’re even there

To hear this poor man’s little prayer

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “A Poor Man’s Prayer

  1. jcimitator

    August 3, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    This poor man’s little prayer is by far the most touching story of poverty and life we “Christians” tend to box out.

    We tend to box out things that make us uncomfortable and out of place. Let’s break down that barrier and pop this Christian bubble.

    Whether this is poverty of not, this depicts what is happening outside our box. Let’s extend a hand and go give those less fortunate a chance to see God through us.

     

Leave a Reply

 
