RSS

Dry Spell

29 May

By: Tony L. Jefferson, Jr.

My mouth feels as if it’s packed with cotton

It’s hard to remember some shit I’d forgotten

Dry

Treading rough terrain

Apocalyptic scenes overpower my brain

Sands

Red

Hands

Dread

Over wastelands I scavenge

For life’s advantage

In these rough times ahead

I’d rather be in bed

Dreaming

In the distance I hear screaming

Cause my hands are now bleeding

Landscape littered with the dead

Bones scattered including heads

Warriors past have took this quest

And now I see their bloody mess

I fear my mind is slowly lost

I took this quest so I’ll pay the cost

When the bottle touched my lips

It took me on trips

But when I awoke the next morning

I was in a dry spell

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Dry Spell

Leave a Reply

 
