RSS

Even Me

31 Jan

By: Tony L. Jefferson, Jr.

Even a sinner

A sinner like me

Can see the truth in the light

I can make a stone-cold blind man see my way

Through tough times

Trials that threaten to strangle the very life I hold onto so dearly

Precariously I stand on the edge

Dearly departed I shall not be

For I have faith stronger than steel

But even steel bends and breaks

Under the strain of a broken heart

Mend me so I can fulfill my purpose

A purpose divinely bestowed upon me

Moving cool through life’s failures

Have I completely failed or secretly succeeded?

Won one of many battles before the wars won?

Even me a lowly peasant can be great

Even the broken hearted can find love

Greater than the enemies I face daily both human and other

Give me strength to move on

Bigger and better things is what I lust after

Lusting

A deadly sin that shows my determination to have what I want and need

No quick fixes

No rushing to the finish line

I’m satisfied with delayed gratification

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Even Me

  1. Dani

    January 31, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    i like this one, but i fail to see how it reflets yoru durrent change in mood?? i have hope for you, you will pull through i am here for you

     
  2. prettyselfish

    February 2, 2010 at 11:38 am

    Love this poem. I have been going through a tought time but I’m finally learning the lesson that when you feel weak you need to celebrate your strengths. Thank you for expressing poetically what my heart is hungry for.

    …And yes it is good to have friends : )

     

Leave a Reply

 
