RSS

After Death

11 Dec

By: Tony L. Jefferson, Jr.

After I die, I want to be dressed in an all black suit

With some new boots

While I’m drifting up to heaven

I don’t want no fears, no tears, and no sneers

Just cheers

Cause I’m finally going home

Cause earth is hell sometimes froze over

Full of shady ass bitches and trifling bastards

I wanna go where the realist have gone

To bask in the new sunlight of the truth

It’s easy to envision a world better than here

Cause this is no world where we’d like to live

We’re placed here as a test

Testing what?

I have no clue

I guess I’ll find out what’s true after death

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 11, 2009 in Emotional Writing, Poems of Expression

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “After Death

  1. amber

    December 16, 2009 at 7:46 am

    Very nice post, it flows great and very expressive

     
  2. katwalk65

    December 22, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    I really like this poem, heaven knows I have felt the same many times myself, it’s a universal feeling — I like the way you describe being dressed. My ‘ode’ to this subject involved more the songs I wanted played at my wake and how I didn’t want people to mourn but to celebrate.

    IF you ever feel like checking out some of my words on the page, http://imuapress.wordpress.com/
    is more poetry, stream of consciousness, etc. and

    http://imuafilm.wordpress.com/
    is kinda more about what I do for a living, which is also a ‘creative’ field, but freelance, tv and film.

    I want to write a poem ‘response’ if that’s cool, will probably post on imuapress in a day or so, if you check back.

    I like exchanging ideas with other writers and writing riffs off each other’s stories, songs, words and love affairs with language, light and the other side of life.

    Keep writing! I like this one!

     

Leave a Reply

 
