RSS

Defeated

04 Aug

defeat

By: Tony L. Jefferson, Jr.

The point of no return

It should have been my turn

But I was beat to the finish line

I guess it wasn’t my time

Or is this the last time?

The world it seems has passed me by

No matter how hard I try

I can’t win

It’s like being kicked in the shin

Finally defeated

Can’t go back and repeat it

Beaten down like the slaves of yesteryear

Beaten down till I quiver in fear

My faith is slowly dwindling away

But God I hope that this feeling does not stay

I’ve cried to you for so many years

But my cries dwindle away in tears

I’ve cried my last cry

Tried my last try

But life can’t be repeated

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Defeated

  1. Monte

    August 4, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    Powerful honest work, Tony.

    Monte

     
  2. PoeticSoulstress

    August 5, 2009 at 1:08 am

    Powerful emotional write…life can’t be repeated just lived but we have to keep trying in spite of all foolishness and storms. Remarkable piece!

     
  3. Ron Huxley

    August 20, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    Great art and words. Love the two together. They both express the heavy weight of feeling defeated.

     

Leave a Reply

 
