RSS

No one sings Love songs anymore

14 May

love songs

By: Tony L. Jefferson, Jr.

What’s happened to the world of today?

I guess everyone’s too busy trying to get paid

Love has died a horrible death

These hearts have been robbed, so terrible a theft

For years our ears have always turned to music

When tenors sing that high, enthusiastic acoustic

Sweet soul music is what it was called

Now this bump and grind, I am so appalled

The sweetest release from a singer’s voice

Released into your heart, stand up and rejoice

The rhythmic sounds love lost and found

Floating down the riverside, seems like they’ve all but drowned

Bring back the sounds of the funky Motown

Or when Rose Royce sang “I’m going down”

Back when Marvin Gaye use to sing to us

Or when Al Green serenaded us at the back of the bus

When Etta James and Anita Baker sung of the pains of love

And Luther sang of the power of love

Oooohhhh

Love restores

Love renews

Love is rebirth of passion and pleasure

But no one sings love songs anymore

Now the world is crazy forevermore

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “No one sings Love songs anymore

  1. montecan

    May 14, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    Thanks again, Tony. Have you ever thought of importing your stuff to Open Salon where my blog is? You can link and the stuff on your blog will automatically be fed to OS. If you have any questions about what OS is, send me an email at montecan@roadrunner.com. Or go to Open Salon and take a look. It is a writers community.

    Monte

     
  2. Tim Wicks

    May 17, 2009 at 11:01 pm

    Hi Tony, I am not usually into poetry. I really like this one, about there not being love songs anymore. It hit a chord with me (pardon the pun), as I too believe that something is lost in todays ‘bump and grind’. Keep it up.

     
  3. LLnL

    May 20, 2009 at 6:21 am

    I can’t help but hear all those songs and more running through my head. I am a music fiend because of the power of words, music and voice. I’m curious, have you ever written lyrics?

     
  4. Gm from My Cheap Tech

    February 24, 2010 at 12:29 am

    Great stuff I’m not really a poetry guy nether but really enjoyed that.

    Also dig your sites design.

     

Leave a Reply

 
