RSS

The Darkness

06 Apr

darkness

 

 

By: Tony L. Jefferson, Jr.

 

The absence of light, that’s what they call darkness

Am imaginary void of fledgling light, that’s what they call darkness

No such thing as the opposite of light

Not feasible in the least of ways

But they don’t understand darkness from the way I see it

See darkness is as real as you and I

Darkness is a feeling of dread and depression

A feeling of invisibility and supremacy

Those lonely times spent wondering about another

The colored skin of a proud people

The earth we toil over to produce life’s sustenance

The mood that’s set for two lovers fantasies

See darkness is seen in a different perspective to me

It takes many forms in many different ways

Darkness hides the mysteries of life

Brought forth by the light in its all revealing grace

Dark pools when I look through your eyes

Through your eyes I see the soul

A perfect balance of light and dark

Neither entity of good nor evil

What the darkness hides the light reveals

What the light can’t handle the darkness masks the reality

Darkness is inspiration for creative minds

Cause out of the darkness and to the light

My thoughts flourish

The stroke of my pen endures

A perfect balance of light and dark

My soul

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 6, 2009 in Poems of Expression

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “The Darkness

  1. Danek S. Kaus

    April 7, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    Hi Tony,

    I hope you and your guys are staying safe.

    Nice poem. You must have put a lot of thought, and your soul, into it.

    Can’t connect on MySpace any more. Someone hacked my account and even though I changed my password, I can’t get back into my account.

    Keep up the good work as a patriot and soldier. And as a poet.

     
  2. Jakob

    April 8, 2009 at 10:23 am

    Tony,
    I realy like this poem. I like that it points out that darkness is not the oposite of light but merely the absence of it–it helps the poem get around the cliché aspect of light and dark. Good work.

     
  3. LLnL

    April 9, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    This poem hit the spot. I have been going through a lot of challenges and I’m discovering a lot of passion. I feel like I need a lot of knowledge that I don’t yet have and I torn between making myself vulnerable to everyone and keeping the everything hidden from my love once. I’m experience darkness but in a new way. There is a lot of light off and on and when the light is all gone I still don’t feel scared, but very stressed.

    I’m not sure if its rude to focus on myself in a comment on someone else’s site, but your poem really get me. I just king of relate and then connect to different parts of my life.

     
  4. Liggy

    February 8, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    Very interesting…I like this perspective of darkness. It makes me realize that one needs to see (or understand) the darkness before one can truly appreciate what’s in the light.

    In fact, I think we take what’s in the light for granted a lot because we don’t see the difference.

    Good job!

     

Leave a Reply

 
