RSS

Truth of the Matter

26 Feb

 

thinker

 

By: Tony L. Jefferson, Jr.

 

When I grow up I want to live without fear

Without the struggle to survive in trying times

I don’t want riches

But wealth in knowledge I do seek

Cause money runs but knowledge is power that stays

Knowledge makes money

Money doesn’t make knowledge

Fear isn’t a real emotion

It is but the absence of courage

Courage to face reality and conquer that void

The void is an expansion of thought triggered by lack of focus

Forever lost unless seized by the freethinker

The truth of the matter is we are brainwashed into a thought process

Hindered by the media and the latest trend

Take me back to the thoughts of my ancestors

Pure in thinking and free of polluted additives

Truth of the matter is I am a man seeking knowledge

So as I may educate my fellow brotha and sista

So I can pull our thoughts out of the one track we fell on

Hatred isn’t real it is but the absence of love

Love is the emotion that is hard to embrace

It loves us and nurtures

Then it rips us apart

Piece by piece till we are reborn anew

Able to love again

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Truth of the Matter

  1. Leonie

    February 27, 2009 at 4:04 am

    I love this, it really makes you think about the truth behind the words, especially “Take me back to the thoughts of my ancestors
    Pure in thinking and free of polluted additives. Great piece 🙂

     
  2. Angel

    February 27, 2009 at 5:13 am

    Is it about humanity growing up?

     
  3. Hadassah

    February 27, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    True 🙂

     
  4. LL&L

    February 28, 2009 at 8:27 am

    I thought when you are without fear that is ultimate maturity, but it doesn’t work like that in the real world. Thank God we are in a time where the impossible looks attainable.

    Your poem speaks the hearts of billions.

     
  5. Mike

    March 1, 2009 at 3:06 am

    Just passing by.Btw, you website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

     
  6. Jim Spaulding

    April 9, 2009 at 8:48 am

    I like how you progress this one. moving from one thing to the other smoothly. You have painted a good example here of how to navigate the void of free association without becoming lost or scattered. That is a tricky skill to master. IMO, with a little tightening here and there this would be a very powerful piece.

     

Leave a Reply

 
