RSS

The Earth Grew a Soul

23 Feb

 

gaia

 

By: Tony L. Jefferson, Jr.

 

Nobody hears the world cry

They just stand by and watch it die

But I heard its soul weep

What a sad sound it was

The sound was soulful and very deep

I say, “hey there world, why do you cry?”

It says to me with a sorrowed tone

No one respects me

No one cares

I feel so neglected

But I have hope to be corrected

Unappreciated is the feeling I feel most

The people that walk me do nothing but boast

They say hey look what I did today

Instead of saying thank you earth for providing the necessities

Because of you world my life can be prosperous

The earth grew a soul and I heard it speak

It said save me from myself

Cause I am spinning out of control

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “The Earth Grew a Soul

  1. Linda Meadows

    February 24, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    As always your poems enlighten and stir our hearts. I have nominated you for the Kreativ Bloggers Award, kindly reference :http://blessednessofbelieving.blogspot.com/ for details! Congratulations my friend!
    Linda Meadows

     
  2. crystal shaw

    February 24, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    SNAPS UP TO YA FOR THIS ART.

     
  3. Joy

    February 24, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    so sad
    luv mother earth© JL

    we have 2 poems combined and have put them up on my site and dubbleX’s check it Tony.

    submit your shit too…

    pick 5 and submit to me & bernard alain at fb or just me.

     
  4. LL&L

    February 24, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    That’s so sweet. I think that is my first earth poem and you make me want to run out and start recycling this instant.

     
  5. Zaribeni

    February 25, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    Nice post! Keep it real.I have looked over your blog a few times and I love it.

     
  6. Nortoria

    February 25, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    Tony this is so nice and so true. It makes you think about the things we do and don’t do. We won’t recycle, but instead throw the trash out of our cars onto the side of the road. This makes me want to be more mindful of how I treat this earth. I really loved the end “spinning out of control” nice touch, very nice!

     

Leave a Reply

 
