RSS

From Boys to Men: Thoughts from My Journey

13 Feb

boy-and-man3

 

By: Tony L. Jefferson, Jr.

 

I travel this road alone

For I am a man

A black man facing the bleak realities of today

A world filled with greed and corruption eats away at my prosperity

 

Reposition myself

 

Endless opportunities are afforded to me

For I am a strong brotha from a caring mother

A smooth dude with a jazzy soul

Clinging on the cusp of greatness

 

Swagger like me

 

Inspirational souls from my ancestral past

Keep me grounded on the road to salvation

With the wisdom and insight to take the road less traveled

Past poets live within me pushing me to finish the unwritten masterpiece

 

Spiritual journey

 

I am free as a caged bird spreading my wings on the mountaintop

Fighting adversity to grasp the dream laid forth by my forefathers

Through this pen flow all emotions, knowledge, dreams and realities

Open your eyes, ears and hearts to me

 

Release 

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “From Boys to Men: Thoughts from My Journey

  1. Gabriel Gadfly

    February 14, 2009 at 12:57 am

    “I am free as a caged bird”

    Which is to say, not free at all? I wonder if that’s the choice of words you were intending. It’s a powerful image, but it doesn’t seem congruent with the rest of the poem.

    Still, a good poem. Looking forward to reading more.

     
  2. Nortoria

    February 20, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    Nice Tony, it is amazing how these words just flow through you and the way you put them together. Keep it up, which I know you will, always interesting to me.

     

Leave a Reply

 
