RSS

On the Way Home

05 Feb

soldier_and_flag2

 

By: Tony L. Jefferson, Jr.

 

This immense feeling of freedom rings

In my ears like the tool of the liberty bell

So many years before my time

So many fears and so many tears

We have shed and shed throughout this turbulent year

A lifetime it seems of wishing and waiting

On the tide of change eagerly waiting to embrace our souls

Loss of faith along the way coupled with loss blessings

Combine to form chaos in the lives of young men and women

Dangers we face

Tragedy we overcome

The outlooks of strangers change over time

And the bond between us becomes stronger

New challenges we face in route to our destinations

Dreams deferred and lives put on hold

Awaiting this unholy war to finally end

I wish, no I pray for good fortune to all

As we reach out destinations

On our way home

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “On the Way Home

  1. amazingangel

    February 6, 2009 at 11:08 am

    I cant wait until you go home..

     
  2. Sade

    February 6, 2009 at 10:10 pm

    Tony, I am soo happy that you will soon be reunited with your loved ones. Thank you for being an even better friend thousands of miles away than some of my friends that lived next door. I hope to hear nothing but good news from you in the future 🙂

     
  3. John/Norma Sullivan

    February 9, 2009 at 6:36 am

    Hey Tony
    I’m sitting here with my wife in San Antonio and we just read some awesome poems Excellent. I was telling her about you and we admire you keeping it positive and constructive in such a situation it’s inspiring.
    We hope your safe and home asap !!
    in the meantime keep well and know we are thinking about you 🙂

     
  4. Nortoria

    February 20, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    I know that you are happy and excited to be home, I am happy for you! Have fun my friend!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
