RSS

I Am Invisible

28 Dec

i am invisible

 

\

By: Tony L. Jefferson, Jr.

 

Only a part of me is seen by the naked eye

The wants, needs and desires of others are only visible

My emotional self ignored or not seen

That part is invisible, ignored, neglected

The real me is only seen in my words splayed across blank pages

I wish I was seen for me, not the wants and needs of others

Not wanted till needed, but no one wants what is not desired

I can fulfill those desires

I can cater to those needs

I can provide those wants

My voice can’t be heard above the masses

I speak loud and firm

No response answers my ears

My voice goes unheard

I’m a ghost, dead to the world of compassion

Who will hear my cry?

Who will fulfill my desires?

Who will provide my wants?

Who will cater to my needs?

No one sees me

No one hears me

I am invisible

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 28, 2008 in Emotional Writing, Poems of Expression

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “I Am Invisible

  1. Austin

    December 29, 2008 at 2:43 am

    I use to hate the thought of being a poetess because I thought it would make me as black ink on paper, easy to crumble and throw into the fire. I worried I’d be faceless and drown in sorrowful prose. Back then I feared being alone, but not so much anymore.

    The part that touched me deeply with this poem was when you talked about filling everyone else’s desires and needs but getting left empty. It is hard to feel as if we give and give but get nothing back. I hate it when people call me only when something is wrong, only when they want something from me. Argh, I hate that.

    We are all in a sense here to serve others and since we are not alone in this world it means we too are to get instead of always serve.

    Peace be with you,
    F. Magdalene

     
  2. JADE

    December 29, 2008 at 6:23 am

    I LOVE IT WE ARE ALL INVISIBLE AT TIMESSSSSS

     
  3. Derek Anders

    December 30, 2008 at 4:22 am

    This is a great poem. It seems sometimes that we are invisible to everyone and the things that are seen are our writings/works.

     
  4. Nessa

    December 30, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    You’re never invisible. Someone will always notice you whether you see them or not. Invisibility is a feeling that you have, but you have to understand that some people are closer to you than you think and will always see you, even when you are invisible to others. They hear you, when no one else does, they see you, when no one else does, and they feel you when no one else does. Sometimes when you feel invisible, you might wanna breathe and see if you are self indulged. Look around you. Sometimes the answers are right under your nose. You are a great writer, poet, and friend. Keep up the great work.

     
  5. karen

    January 3, 2009 at 10:38 am

    you have people reading your blog. you r not invisible. I too feel this alot.
    As an artist, I work alone, I feed on melancholy. But goes to such depths of despair, I barely think I will be able to get through. BUt somehow I emerge a broken shell on the other side. Albiet, briefly , before it begins again. At this moment I too am invisible….kx

     
  6. Jule Guzman

    January 3, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    Well, maybe no one else out here in Baghdad takes the time to say it, but I will will.

    I see you.

    I appreciate you.

    I am grateful for your poetry. I have been all wrapped up in my thoughts and stock markets lately and have given very little (if any) time to myself to enjoy culture. Sometimes, it’s like I really don’t even know what’s out there. I am not paying you to share, shine, or entertain me, yet you take the time to do it anyway.

    And lastly…

    I think it should be said that, ontop of the hard work you have always put in, you did a God-Damned Good Job while Sgt. Toucheque was gone. If it’d been me, I’d have shot somebody.

    For all of this:

    thank you

    Sincerely-
    The Genius of Wall Street…
    Jule Guzman
    ……………………………

     
  7. Nortoria

    January 12, 2009 at 3:33 am

    Wow, this is nice and I agree with it all. We are all invisible in one way or another and at some point of our lives. I just want you to know that you will never be invisible to me. If you were with me I could fulfill your needs, wants and desires because you are one of few that I consider to be a real friend. As a friend I want you to know that I hear you cry and everything will be just fine, nothing is ever easy.

     
  8. Enlargement

    January 16, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    I am amazed with it. It is a good thing for my research. Thanks

     

Leave a Reply

 
