RSS

Unfaithfully

01 Nov

 

 

By: Tony L. Jefferson, Jr.

 

I wish you could see the pain in my heart

My soul, shredded by your tryst of passion

My mind is a mass of confusion and agony

My passionate heart shattered like glass

 

Unfaithfully

 

I can’t stand to look into your eyes

You lie through your teeth

You insult my intelligence

Your mouth speaks volumes, but your heart is untrue

 

Unfaithfully

 

Questions arise and plague my thoughts

Was it me? Was it you? Does it even matter?

Your warm embrace has turned ice cold

Our existence slips and falls into an unholy darkness

 

Unfaithfully

 

It is clear to me now

All of the pain was for nothing

My soul has been redeemed

My heart has been restored

 

Unfaithfully

 

Now I hear you are with another

But your transgressions cause your new fling to suffer

You come to me for a second chance

Before I submit to your pleas I go into deep thought

 

Unfaithfully

 

Should I? Could I? Would I?

Endure the pain; Trust you again; Love you for a second time

My answer is complex and painful many tearful nights I have spent on this

The answer to that is….

 

Unfaithfully

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Unfaithfully

  1. Nortoria

    November 6, 2008 at 5:25 am

    Yes! I love it. I know exactly what you mean. I have pondered many of times whether or not to give second chances, but I always think about the pain and hurt that was caused the first time and know that I wouldn’t want to take a chance of enduring it a second time. Most people never change like they say they have, so why risk being hurt when its bound to happen. Great work!
    ~Tori
    P.S. I also found a typo for you to fix you have tryst for trust in the second line.

     
  2. Kikolani - Poetry | Photography | Blogging Tips

    November 14, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    For such a serious subject, that is a kind of cute and disturbing picture.

    It is hard to figure out whether you can trust someone again after they have betrayed you. I guess you have to figure out if living without them is worse than living with them and having to build the trust again. If you can’t live without them, you have to choose the latter.

    ~ Kristi

     

Leave a Reply

 
