RSS

This Topsy Turvy World

13 Oct

 

By: Tony L. Jefferson, Jr.

 

From the outside in

From the inside out

The world we see has gone crazy

Lost its ever loving mind

Gone are the days of prosperity

Forgotten is the struggle of our forefathers

Was it all a dream?

Is our existence morphed into this twisted reality?

We are susceptible to lies

Threatened by fear

I am enraged by all that I see

My pleas are ignored

My vision disputed

The blind eyes don’t see the tragedy unfolding

Our people turn to others and chastise their own

Dismissing where they come from

Ignorant and close minded we become

Common sense is lost to our society

Eroded by the constant saturation of stupidity

Bring me a change

Open up our minds

Unlock our hearts

We see the tragedy but fail to change our destiny

“If we don’t learn from our past, we are doomed to repeat it in the future”

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “This Topsy Turvy World

  1. chisom

    October 13, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    hi Tony,

    Topsy Turvy is a good write, maybe judging from my african background its too literal, i enjoy more, poems that say simple things in a thick imagery,deep, funny,metaphoric ways but all in all its good piece. that is what i’m trying in http://www.loudthotz.com,to tell people “let your thoughts be heard creative or not” whether your creative is subjective. Keep it up. i have not read the other poems but i know they wil be good. nice site very nice site

     
  2. Joy Leftow

    October 14, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    Yes Yes Yes
    the world has gone topsy turvy and it seems like we all need to care more. You’re a natural rhymer too. As you already know, I’m not. I admire that.

    literal works for me – I’m a very literal person – & I like to understand what I read.

    hey check it on my blog, I have a short piece on how people say I’m not a poet!

     
  3. Rani

    October 17, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    The world today is indeed what you describe. This is a lovely site!

     
  4. G Money (Guzman)

    October 19, 2008 at 6:41 am

    The best of yours that I’ve read yet. Bear in mind though that I, too, am lookin’ around in wonder/horror saying, “What the fuck? How did this happen? But that’s just the Pinko-Commie Idealist in me. The only thing I’d change is I’d paraphrase the last line instead of ending with a direct quote. But you’re the writer… I am but a witness.

    Keep up the good work… it is important what you are doin’ here…
    Jule Guzman

    (P.S. I just added the words, “Pinko-Commie” to see if the FBI is still reading. Hey guys, if you are, please stop wasting my precious fuckin’ tax dollars. Thank you.)

     
  5. Nortoria

    October 25, 2008 at 4:50 am

    I agree my friend. I like this one it is very deep and more than true.
    ~Tori

     

Leave a Reply

 
